Thursday, April 16, 2015


The Fountain of Four Rivers
Bernini, 1651 marble
It’s the centerpiece of Navona Square in Rome.  The statues symbolize what were  the world’s four greatest rivers: the Nile, the Ganges, the Danube and the Rio de la Plata. Each of them also represents one of the four continents that were known at the time. They rest on a large rock that rises from a circular basin and are surrounded by animals  of the respective continents.  I chose to focus on the lion in the fountain as the concept of my final project revolves around forming animal faces, one being a lion, with detailed expressions representing emotions.  Bernini created intricate detail and over dramatic emotion to his work and it shows through the fountain beautifully.

No comments:

Post a Comment